The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 17, 2017, 11:50 AM   #1
ocharry

250 AI savage 99

ok guys i need some help here,,,never had a wildcat cartridge before

a really good friend of mine gave me a savage 99 250-3000 that was rebarreled and restocked ,,,just totally worked over by a gunsmith friend of his,,,and it has a ackley improved chamber in it,,,,so since they dont commercially load that and i didnt get any brass for it,,i did get dies with it,,,i need to fire form some 250 brass,,,i have never done this before,,,my buddy says i can just shoot regular 250 savage in it and it will form it to the new chamber dem.,,,,i dont know about that,,,he has never done it either and he dont reload much ,,im kinda thinking thats why i got it,,last thing he said to me when i left was,,,get some shells made up for that 99 and tell me how she shoots,,,,so that is the mission,,,,im not sure it has ever been shot since the remake ,,, it sure is purdy tho

so the question is,,,can i do it that way??? or do i need to do it some other way???

im not sure,, from what i have read, if the angle at the top of the case is all that is changed or not,,kinda looks like the case wall is straightened out some too,along with the 40* angle,,,i have been reading as much as i can find about this,,i kinda get the drift that it will blow it out since there isnt much difference in the two,,,just neck angle and maybe the side walls just a smigin,,,i think,,,but like i said i have never done this kinda thing before,,,,looks like it will be fun to play with when i get some brass reformed

so if any of you guys have done this kinda stuff before,,,i'm all ears,,,and listening

ocharry

ocharry
Old October 17, 2017, 12:36 PM   #2
T. O'Heir

Geezuz, don't let any Savage collectors hear about messing with a 99.