The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 21, 2012, 04:00 PM   #1
ConlawBloganon
Member
 
Join Date: May 28, 2011
Posts: 47
Rail accessory loose

I just got my first rail accessory - a light. But it wobbles a little forward/backward on my gun. Left/right it's plenty secure. This is a ~$150 light, from a pretty good brand. Any ideas how to remedy the problem?
ConlawBloganon is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 04:18 PM   #2
Nitesites
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 28, 2011
Posts: 600
Streamlight TLR maybe?
Nitesites is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 05:04 PM   #3
NYCShooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 2, 2009
Posts: 103
It would really be helpful if you posted which light and mount you are using...
NYCShooter is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 06:13 PM   #4
ConlawBloganon
Member
 
Join Date: May 28, 2011
Posts: 47
Sorry for the lack of detail earlier.

It's a Streamlight Insight M3X.


Mounted on the standard (picatinny?) rail on my scandium S&W 1911PD.


I'm thinking I can probably just shim it somehow, but wanted to see if anyone had similar problems. The light slides fore/aft on the rail about 1-2mm, with pretty little resistance. It seems like the slots in my rail are too wide or something. Suggestions?
ConlawBloganon is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 06:38 PM   #5
Nitesites
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 28, 2011
Posts: 600
Oh, Insight Tac light...No personal experience with them but looking at their website shows optional mounting solutions...

http://www.insighttechgearstore.com/m3xledpive.html

Are you sure you have one that fits standard 1913 rails or the Glock specific?
Nitesites is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 06:58 PM   #6
ConlawBloganon
Member
 
Join Date: May 28, 2011
Posts: 47
I'm not sure. Looking here, mine definitely ISN'T the the "Rail-Grabber." Reading that same document, it seems like it comes with 2 "latch bars," which I assume you change out depending on rail type? Bought it used, and it only has 1. So I'm thinking my next step is to figure out which latch bar I have and order the other one.
ConlawBloganon is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 07:15 PM   #7
NYCShooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 2, 2009
Posts: 103
Your light is an Insight light, not a Streamlight. Most rails are not spec. MIL-STD 1913 Picatinny rails, and different guns have different rail spacing. Light manufacturers offer different fixes for this. Streamlight, for example, provides a set of five different compensating "rail locating keys", while Insight provides "latch bars" to accomplish the same thing. I am not totally familiar with the different mounts that Insight offers on their lights, but if you contact Insight, I am sure they can provide a fix.
NYCShooter is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 07:22 PM   #8
ConlawBloganon
Member
 
Join Date: May 28, 2011
Posts: 47
Is Insight a subsidiary of Streamlight, or visa versa? My light says Streamlight on the side...
ConlawBloganon is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 07:32 PM   #9
Nitesites
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 28, 2011
Posts: 600
Heck if I know Bro. Didn't know they were affiliated. You prob have the Glock specific, though. Check with Insight Monday to make sure. I'd say they would be more than happy to point you into the right direction concerning spending your money on there product!
Nitesites is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 07:33 PM   #10
Microgunner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 6, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 3,324
I own the exact same Insight and it's wobbly on the Monolith Arms fore stock rail on my FN FS2000, but when I mounted a low profile laser on the same rail it fit perfectly. The low profile laser had a picatinny rail on it's bottom and the Insight fits perfectly on that rail? I was confused. All I can think is the Insight has zero tolerance for out of spec rails.
__________________
Proud NRA Benefactor Member
Microgunner is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 07:39 PM   #11
Nitesites
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 28, 2011
Posts: 600
Could be...
Nitesites is offline  
Old January 21, 2012, 09:05 PM   #12
NYCShooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 2, 2009
Posts: 103
At one time Insight made lights for Streamlight, but AFAIK that is no longer the case.
NYCShooter is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2018 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.05914 seconds with 10 queries