The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 28, 2010, 10:38 AM   #1
drgoose

Where to start improving accuracy

I recently bought my first rifle (actually traded in a pistol I did not use at a pawn shop). It is a Savage 110E in 30-06 pre Accutrigger. Probably late 1970s from what I have been able to gather. Being a newbie I got sold about 400 rounds of Lake City 1968 ammo for 200 bucks (please don't tell me how bad or good a deal it was). Anyway, I took it to the range yesterday.

After while I got it zeroed in at 100 yrds and it was shooting my guess 2.5 inch groups. From what I have read it should be capable of shooting 1 MOA groups at 100 yards all day long. The LC ammo has 151 grain steel core jacketed bullets on top of 44 gr of an extruded powder. I don't have a chronograph to clock them.

I shot a few of my load using the lake city ammo, CCI primers, 46 gr of IMR4895 with 168 gr MatchKing Sierra Boat tail bullets. It shot 4 inch groups.

Here is what I have not done:
1)Give the rifel a good cleaning (did it yesterday)
2)The barrel is not "floating" I can't get the dollar bill to slide under the barrel.
3)Shoot different weight bullets or work up or down the load.

How important is it that the barrel "floats".

Am I correct to think that it should be able to shoot 1" groups all day?

Should I just give up and buy a brand new rifle for about 400 bucks?
Old June 28, 2010, 10:48 AM   #2
Sarge

Something is wrong; 110's, new or old, have been the most consistently accurate production rifle I've fiddled with. I would-

1. Scrub bore

2. Check rings/mounts

3. Try another scope

4. Check muzzle for dings/sharp edges at crown

5. Float the barrel

Good luck & keep us posted.
Old June 28, 2010, 11:01 AM   #3
MO. Shootin

I would just experiment with different amouts of powder charge to start and see if it gets better. I bet it will.
Old June 28, 2010, 11:28 AM   #4
Brian Pfleuger