The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 10, 2011, 08:17 AM   #1
BillyBeards

First time shooting a pump gun at the trap range.

I'm very new to this so this may be a dumb question so please bare with me.

Yesterday was the second time I went to the local skeet/trap range and like the first time I had a blast, no pun intended. But here's the only difference. For my first round they give me a semi-auto 12g Beretta to use and all went well. For my second game they gave me a Remington 12g 887 pump and boy could I feel the difference in recoil on my cheek. My face was sore all night.
I know they say the semi-auto have less felt recoil but is it really that different or was I doing something wrong?

I'm still trying to decide on what I would like to purchase for myself so I see this as a good thing. I did not like the 887.

Thanks in advance for any responses.
Bill
Old July 10, 2011, 08:26 AM   #2
krimmie

A buddy was complaining about this after our third round yesterday...turns out his 870 has a 14" lop(too short for him) and his thumb was smacking his face. I carry an adjustable slip on pad in my bag, once we increased the lop to 14.5", his problem was solved.
Old July 10, 2011, 08:30 AM   #3
oneounceload

While a gas gun can elongate the recoil pulse so the recoil FEELS less, cheek slap (and the bruise) is from a gun that does not fit you properly - and that does not mean just LOP
Old July 10, 2011, 12:26 PM   #4
zippy13

Bill, now you may be getting the point why we stress the importance of gun fit and recommend trying various guns before you make a new gun selection. Remember, the gun makers size their guns based upon their interpretation of the average shooter's dimensions.