The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 24, 2001, 09:36 PM   #1
Nightcrawler

-A plain old bead.
-A bead on a rib.
-A bead on a rib with a second mid-rib bead/
-A rib with fiber-optic turkey sights.
-Ghost Ring sights.
-Rifle type sights.

Many different kinds of shotguns, many different types of sights. I'm new to shotgunning, and although I'm certain I want a solid pump shotgun as my primary do it all firearm, I'm still considering different makes and models, particularly, the M870, the 590A1, and the Win Camp Defender. (I'm probably going to trade my Win 94 .357 for a used 870 soon, but I still want a brand new keeper shotgun that's all mine, and I'm willing to save up for it.)

So, I ask the experienced shotgunners out there. What is the most versatile kind of sights for a shotgun? I want my all rounder shotgun to be able to handle just about anything (like a good shotgun should). So which sights should I get? Bead, ghost ring, or rifle sights? Which is best for hitting moving targets with shot? Which is best for quick acquisition? Which is best in lower light conditions? Which is best for accuracy with slugs (50-75 yard range)?

Thanks.
Old May 24, 2001, 11:15 PM   #2
GGGLOCK

Nightcrawler,

Here are my opinions on the different sighting systems that I've personally used on a shotgun:

Single bead - as fast as anything out there once you learn to use it. With the proper cheek weld, your eye becomes the rear sight. Basically non-adjustable, in case you want to zero for slugs.

Rib + bead(s) - I can't tell the difference from just a plain bead, but I've been told the rib gives you a better sighting plane (compared to just the receiver alone). I seem to be able to break just as many clay pigeons without the rib. Again, basically non-adjustable.