The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old January 2, 2008, 07:39 PM   #1
Mags

Knife: Plain edge or serrated?

What do you prefer and why. I'm new to knives but have always liked having a partialy serrated edge. Seems to cut roap, plastic, rubber better. What are the pros and cons of each?
Old January 2, 2008, 08:39 PM   #2
Andrew93

serrated edges are harder to sharpen but cut stuff easier. Regular edges are easier to sharpen. A thing that annoys me about serrated edges is when your cutting stuff hair and crap gets in the serrated edge and makes it useless until you clean the stuff out of it.
Old January 2, 2008, 09:24 PM   #3
RedneckFur

I prefer straight edges all the time. I've got no use for a serated edge.
Old January 2, 2008, 10:20 PM   #4
odsixer

Quote:
I prefer straight edges all the time. I've got no use for a serated edge.
Today 06:39 PM
+1
Old January 2, 2008, 10:24 PM   #5
hoytinak

I used to have all partially serrated knives but they became too much of a pain to keep properly shapened. Now all I have is plain edges. Never really needed the serrated edge so I don't miss them.
Old January 2, 2008, 11:55 PM   #6
raymond-

reality is that these are tools and one simply selects what is best for a particular
task. if, for the most part, your need is straight edge, that's what you select....
or vice versa.

as I assess my knives, I see that I have some of each, as well as combo blades.
when I'm working with nylon webbing when mountaineering, having the serrated
edge makes fast work of the rope/webbing. even in urban setting, I like to keep
at least half a blade with this design....after I've had occasion to cut someone
free from their seat belt. most of the time, the straight edge will suffice.

my primary carry is the Balisong, AFCK ATS-34, half straight...half serrated
Old January 3, 2008, 01:40 AM   #7
skeeter1