The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 22, 2017, 03:02 PM   #1
dakota.potts

My first 1911 build

After receiving a scholarship and student membership to the American Pistolsmiths Guild, I was sent a lot of tools and small parts from various companies to build a 1911. I am in my final semester of gunsmithing school where I have the most freedom in my own education and support from the teachers to specialize. After receiving the help I did from these companies, and having one year to complete two handguns for full membership into the Guild, I decided it was time to start with my first full custom 1911.

I had a lot of small parts already, but none of the major components, so I called up Caspian. Not only are they fantastic to gunsmith students (giving a full FFL/retail discount on new products), I also found out they were running a 50% off sale on all slides that were currently cut and in inventory. I didn't get exactly the features I wanted (different sight cuts for one), but I saved a ton of money. All told, I got the frame, slide, grip safety, damascus plunger tube, slide stop, and a couple other small parts for less than $450 shipped!

I still need a barrel, safety, recoil spring assembly, barrel and bushing and a couple other parts, but what I have will keep me busy until then. I am probably going to try to complete the rest of the gun with parts from Ed Brown and Wilson Combat.

The plan is for a tuned custom sporting handgun in a high gloss hot blue finish with exotic wood grips, target sights, and some nitre blued accents (inspired by some of the Wilson Combat Supergrade models I've seen). I am going for a a classic and elegant yet slightly modernized look - no pic rail, cheese grater serrations, squared off slide, etc.

I will update as progress is made, but I am told it is slow with these guns.

Old February 23, 2017, 07:30 AM   #2
Spats McGee
Staff