The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 1, 2016, 09:01 AM   #1
stagpanther

RP 41 mag Autopsy

recently I was firing a 41 mag reload through my Henry and the case split almost symmetrically around the circumference just below the half height point. I posted pics of this on another thread in this forum category.

I was surprised to hear back from others that they had experienced the same case failure, but there was no general agreement as to why or how this was happening--and some people responded that they had never seen or experienced anything like it. So I decided to do some amateur sleuthing since I have been firing and reloading 41 mag for at least 5 years. In that time, the majority of the brass I've used has come from factory ammo, including Remington's jacketed soft point. My supply of brass is basically winchester, starline and remington.

The failure in question results from a "snapping off" of the case just below half height. I decide to examine my used used brass from several different lots. In no particular order, here is what I found:

1. I looked at my used brass that had been reloaded and fired three or more times. The majority of the cases would probably be 3 years or older, whether from factory ammo or simply new case purchases.

Of the couple of hundred or so cases I examined, none of the winchester or starline brass showed any signs on either the exterior or interior of the case of the horizontal banding that is consistent with the case failure I had. Of all the older remington brass, only one of the cases showed signs of slight banding and that was inside the case. Al cases showed some signs of "stress" in the head web, but that is normal.