The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old September 23, 2020, 10:10 AM   #1
BJung

Trigger Squeeze

How many of you use the word squeeze or press to refer to pulling your trigger back on you handgun. I ran across a fellow on youtube who used the word stroke. I stroked my front finger across the table and made an effort to draw my finger and straight back to reduce torque. I think he's also a trap shooter. I thought it was a nice word to mentally manipulate us to be sure your finger is pulling the trigger straight back.

What mental steps do you take when shooting your pistol?
Old September 23, 2020, 11:39 AM   #2
Aguila Blanca
Staff

Quote:
Originally Posted by burbank jung
What mental steps do you take when shooting your pistol?
I align the sights on the target.

I've been shooting for about 68 years, and shooting 1911s for more than 50 years. By now, my trigger finger knows what to do without my having to think about it.
Jeepaholic
Old September 23, 2020, 12:26 PM   #3
ghbucky

make sure your finger is on the trigger opposite the cuticle of your index finger and the pull, stroke, squeeze whatever you want to call it won't move the gun to either side.
Old September 23, 2020, 12:39 PM   #4
BJung

Aguila. Is there any special advice you can give me about the .45? I've owned for probably 15 years and only put less than 40 rounds through it. I've started looking for test loads for it and discovered afterwards that my petloads using Bullseye for 230gr RN and 200LSWC was the same as the universal recommendation!

I've read this book titled the Perfect Pistol Shot and it was very helpful. It's still a strange feeling to look at the target and then change your focus on the sights when where you want the bullet is the target.
Old September 23, 2020, 12:47 PM   #5
BJung