The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 28, 2015, 09:33 AM   #1
jfilion2

Petrolium Distillates (Reloading Newbie)

Hello All,

I am new to reloading, so be gentle.

I recently bought a .338 Win Mag Browning BAR semi automatic rifle. I am deploying to the Canadian Arctic for a sample collection scientific expedition in Polar Bear country. Of course, I hope not to have to kill a polar bear, but if it's him or us, it'll be him.

Well, it turns out that shooting this gun is so much fun that I've gotten into reloading (to add additional fun on non-range days).

I just finished building my first batch (60 reloads) of .338 Win Mag ammo. Since I was bored (and inexperienced) I decided to shine up my casings. I tried tumbling (before they were loaded and primed of course), didn't like the results. I tried the ultra sonic cleaner, didn't like the results. So then I used a microfibre cloth and Turtle Wax. Shines like a beauty !

... but I found in the ingredients that it contains petroleum distillates. That's probably why my rag turned black while I was rubbing the brass.

Should I toss my 60 rounds of reloaded ammo due to having changed the chemical composition of the brass?

casings-1.jpg

casings-2.jpg

casings-3.jpg
Old June 28, 2015, 09:54 AM   #2
603Country

I wouldn't worry about the brass and petroleum distillates. I might worry about using the BAR in extreme temperatures. My BAR, now my brother's, worked great but I never had it in super cold temps.

Also very important is that you check the reloads for chambering. I had to use a small base die for my 270 rounds. Of course, if you are shooting it, then your reloads must be Ok.
Old June 28, 2015, 09:59 AM   #3
F. Guffey

When I want to show off I use a spinner, there are times the spinner is faster than tumbling when loading a few rounds.