The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old January 30, 2018, 07:26 PM   #1
1940izhevsk

Questions on some .30-40 Krag ammo

I have some old Remington Core-Lokt rounds for my late grandfather's Krag-Jørgensen rifle, although it has some questionable "stuff" on a few cases and projectiles. It's a teal-ish powdery substance that's a little concerning, to be honest.

Is it anything that makes the ammo unusable? Can I clean it off and then use it? .30-40 is starting to become hen's teeth at this day in age...

https://twitter.com/Mhymyk1/status/958496958678581248
Old January 30, 2018, 07:49 PM   #2
HiBC

I would not shoot it.

Sometimes when powder gets old,the chemicals released eats brass.

I'm not an expert,but I'd guess the green is mostly copper.Where did it come from? I'm thinking the brass that the copper left is not the same anymore.

Remember the brass is all that keeps about 40,000 psi of hot gas from blowing your stock to splinters and modifying your face and eyeballs.

Good news is Hornady is making brass for 30-40. You can probably order it today from Midway or Graf's or Natchez. Its roughly $35 for 50 pieces.
Old January 30, 2018, 08:38 PM   #3
1940izhevsk

Quick update

I took some 0000 steel wool to the cartridges, and it seems to clean up well. The residue seems to have not harmed the brass nor projectiles at all, just some light spots from covering said area. The brass itself has gone from a dull brass to a dull shine, as if it was untouched.
Old January 30, 2018, 08:45 PM   #4
Slamfire

Personally, I would pull the bullets and inspect the interior of the cases for corrosion.

If there is evidence of corrosion I would not use the brass, but the bullets are salvageable.