The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old March 5, 2018, 04:04 PM   #1
TrxR87

What shotgun for squirrel

Thinking of a shotgun for Squirel control and am not sure what to go with?

Should I go with a 410, 28 gauge, 20 gauge, 16 gauge or 12 gauge?

Looking for something with a fairly low kick and not overly loud.

Will also be using steel shot as I don want the lead pellets around the well.

Sorry if this is a odd question but I am new to Shotguns.

Thanks
Old March 5, 2018, 05:23 PM   #2
Blindstitch

If you're not going to eat the squirrels it doesn't matter.
20 gauge and 12 are the cheapest for ammo. I would stay away from 410 because $15 per box in the U.S. isn't fun compared to 20/12 gauge at $5.

My go to squirrel gun is a 20 gauge. Good enough to kill and not destroy if you intend to eat them.
Old March 5, 2018, 05:32 PM   #3
FITASC

Academy sells Win AA 410s for $9/box.
"I believe that people have a right to decide their own destinies; people own themselves. I also believe that, in a democracy, government exists because (and only so long as) individual citizens give it a 'temporary license to exist'—in exchange for a promise that it will behave itself. In a democracy, you own the government—it doesn't own you."- Frank Zappa
Old March 5, 2018, 06:07 PM   #4
Model12Win

You going to eat em? Ever bite down on steel shot?

If not, 20 bore single shot. Light, handy, effective, shells easy to find and affordable.
Old March 5, 2018, 06:25 PM   #5
Dufus

One of my uncles used a 410 since he couldn't see the sights on a 22 rifle any more.

I have always used a 22LR.

Anything that uses a center fire primer is loud, so don't let noise or loudness count.
Old March 5, 2018, 06:28 PM   #6
jmr40