The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 30, 2011, 10:12 AM   #1
Billy Waugh

Issues with trimming

Im new to hand-loading, Im loading .308 on pretty much all RCBS equiptment. On my first batch of ammo though, Like bonehead did not zero my caliper properly before sizing around 30 cases, so instead of being trimmed to 2.007 they were trimmed to 2.003/2.002 Is it ok to resize them back up to 2.007??
Old January 30, 2011, 10:28 AM   #2
Ike666

I've just got to ask, are you THE Billy Waugh?
Old January 30, 2011, 12:26 PM   #3
Billy Waugh

No its just a handle of mine and also my way of paying homage to one of the most serious operators to walk the face of the planet.
Old January 30, 2011, 12:35 PM   #4
dawico

I don't understand your question. How are you going to resize them back up? I am lost.
Old January 30, 2011, 01:27 PM   #5
hammie

@dawico: I thought that too. Unless I'm missing something, isn't this like cutting a ceramic tile too short, and then going to home depot and trying to find a tile stretcher?

@billywaugh: Please forgive me. I'm not making fun of your plight. My hornady manual gives a minimum trim length of 2.005. If you go by that, then you're only about .002 to .003 too short. That shouldn't pose any problems. Since the trimmed cartridges are all the same length, crimping (if you crimp) shouldn't be a problem either. Just adjust your die.
Old January 30, 2011, 02:32 PM   #6
Billy Waugh

Thanks Hammie that answered my question.... which i dont think I stated my problem clear enough. It ending up just being my caliper. The cases were sized correctly. The caliper I just ordered (Hornady Digital) seem to be defective because it just wont hold a zero. after using a friends RCBS digital Caliper I realized they were all in the 2.006 - 2.009 range.....Just to clarify, new cases trimmed below 2.005 can still be loaded?
Old January 30, 2011, 03:08 PM   #7
hammie