Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old August 23, 2011, 08:42 PM   #1
nodule

Advice for best hearing protection for range

Hi,

As a total newbie to the shooting sports, I am in the process of purchasing
all my accessories for the range. I currently have outstanding hearing, and
I wanna keep it that way!

What brand/style of hearing protection will have provide the best protection?

Everyone seems to love the electronic Howard Leights low profile green
muffs, doubling up with ear plugs.

Would this be a great combination to protect one's hearing?

Or any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Old August 23, 2011, 10:37 PM   #2
ClydeFrog

Eyes & ears...

Hi & welcome to the wonderful world of firearms and the shooting sports industry.

To answer your question(s), I'd look at the simple throw away styles sold here; www.policehq.com . Another good brand is the ZEM style sold in the main NRA store; www.NRA.org .
Some gunners use both ear muffs and ear plugs but I honestly do not think that route is needed with normal range use(small calibers, limited range trips).

I'd also look for other good items like a ball cap or hat, eyewear or protective shields, elbow & knee pads(if you run & gun or do tactical drills).
One big issue is NOT to wear open collar or polo type shirts for shooting semi auto weapons if possible. My good friend shot my new PX4 C model 9mm with a short sleeve tennis shirt. A hot spent case flew up & went right down his bare chest! Ouch!
FWIW; I advised him NOT to wear that shirt before we went to the indoor pistol range.

Clyde F
www.Brownells.com www.uscav.com www.galls.com www.qmuniforms.com www.cabelas.com www.cheaperthandirt.com
ps; As for eyewear, go with a proven well made style like 5.11, Wiley X, Gargoyles, Ray-Ban, etc.
Old August 24, 2011, 08:50 AM   #3
C0untZer0

I user the foam inserts and put the muffs on top.

For one thing, I already have hearing loss and a buzz in my ear.