The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 20, 2005, 02:41 PM   #1
Tacoma

Reloading buckshot

Since I'm all set up for reloading anyway, I was thinking that I would reload some 2 3/4" mid level buckshot loads for practicing /toying with my Win 1300 HD pump gun. I'm thinking along the lines of 1.25 oz of 0 shot at 1125 +/- FPS or so. Although I've got plenty of experience with trap/skeet/clays loads, I was wondering if there were special requirements for loading the larger pellets. ( Seems to me I remember seeing 00 pellets packed in some sort of media in a shell I tore up once.) Any help, cautions or insight welcome.
Old June 20, 2005, 03:45 PM   #2
m0ntels

Get Lyman's shotgun loading manual?

I havent loaded any buck yet, but I've spent some time reading on it. Some loads call for buffer, some dont, some need under/overshot cards. You also have to stack the pellets in the hull one by one by hand so they all fit in, it isnt just a drop like for bird shot. Without peeping my book, that's about all I can tell you. I just started loading shotgun a month ago, and I dont have much practical use for buck so I havent gotten around to fooling with it yet but look forward to in the next couple months.

Randy
Old June 20, 2005, 04:12 PM   #3
sm

Since you are familar with loading shot shells , all you really need to do is follow the directions of a Published recipe and/or those of Mfg of components.

At one time I had grex buffering , such as Win uses. I have used Farina, Malto Meal , Flour, and Grits as buffer as well.

I weighed the shot, then added whatever buffer to stay in safe levels. Remove shot and weigh whatever "buffer" I used. I made notes, weighed often, added the shot by hand and the buffer by hand make your own dippers for each type of buffer material.

If can secure some copperplated hard shot, with a buffer is best IMO/ IME