The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Harley Nolden Memorial Institute for Firearms Research

Old January 14, 2010, 08:03 PM   #1
michaeljohn

info inquiry for two mausers

looking for some info on two mausers the first one is stamped OVIEDO 1923 and that is all I know about it, the other is a columbian M1924/30 and I only know this as I have seen a photo with that info and it matched mine exactly. I am hoping to find some parts for both I need a trigger guard with spring and folower for the OVIEDO, and a complete bolt for the columbian. I am a Soldier and a couple of years ago while I was deployed my family moved to fort hood apparently my wife didn't think the little boxes with parts in them in the shed were important and threw them away. so if anyone out there can hook an old soldier up I would sure appreciat the info.
Old January 14, 2010, 09:57 PM   #2
30-30remchester

To start with I know for myself and many others in here I want to THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE TO OUR COUNTRY. The reason Im comfortably sitting in my chair tonight is because of your service. I have checked "THE BIBLE" of mauser books by Ludwig Olsen and he say Oviedo mausers were built in Spain and that it could be either 7.65x53 Argentine mauser or 8MM mauser caliber however he is also talking about the model 27. The Colombian was made by FN and should be chambered for 7x57. Again this imfo isnt from me but a book on mausers. Most all of these parts should be avalible online or gun shows, with headspace checking needing to be done on rifle needing the new bolt.
Old January 14, 2010, 10:43 PM   #3
michaeljohn

thanks for the help

Hey I appreciate the help and the sentiments. I was pretty sure one was a