The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 21, 2018, 10:59 AM   #1
BobWalters

Help advice on new hunting shotgun

Looking for a new shotgun. My spending limit is right around $1,000(ish). Gun will be used for turkey, dove, quail, and ducks. I’d like it to be gas operated rather than recoil inertia or anything else.

First off, my first question here is I’ll be new to turkey hunting, so do I need or should I get a 3.5” gun or will 3” suffice? My aversion to 3.5” guns is the fact that I hear they don’t always reliably cycle the 2 3/4 light load quail shells very well.
Now on to the options:

Remington V3 (3”)
Beretta A300 (3”)
Winchester SX4 (3.5”)
Winchester SX3 (3”)
Remington Versa Max (3.5”)

I know the versa max runs plus 1,000 but I can get a good deal on it through my dealer. If I need 3.5” for turkey and or ducks then people can eliminate the V3 and A300. I’m new to these two hunting types so I don’t know how necessary 3.5” truly is. If 3” will easily suffice what I need or if it’s true that 3.5” shotguns won’t reliably cycle my light quail loads then scratch those off. Unless when comparing the versa max and V3 the versa max is a true better more reliable better stronger made shotgun.

EDIT: I know people are gonna suggest what fits me best so let me say and ask for help with that to, right now every single shotgun I own (5 models) are shotguns I inherited. Up until the last few weeks I never considered or even heard of this “fits you best” thing as I was just accustomed to opening the safe, grabbing an inherited shotgun out, and going on a hunt. I never once considered if it fit. Truth be told I don’t know how to even judge if a shotgun fits me or not.
Old January 21, 2018, 11:24 AM   #2
Rifletom