The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old April 26, 2018, 09:03 AM   #1
Runs With Fire

10mm ammo for whitetail

I am planning on hunting with my glock 20 this year. I have found that most have one of two opinions. Either they want a 200+ grain flat nose hardcast ( for full penetration) or any hot hollow point (because a hard cast doesn't cause enough wound channel). I really don't know as I am new to handgun hunting. I have a box of buffalo bore 220 grain hard cast that I load when I'm in bear country. Would that work well, or not?
I don't have reloading equipment, but what would be wrong with some good ole' fashoined pure lead for whitetail under 40 yards? I've dropped them with .445 and .490 cal pure lead roundballs from my smokepoles. The lead worked great in those. Why not a pistol?
Old April 26, 2018, 09:16 AM   #2
David R

I shot one with a 44 mag. PLENTY of power.

240 LSWC @ 1300.

It did a cartwheel and laid there.

I was amazed at the destruction.

What ever you use will be fine with a good shot.
David
Old April 26, 2018, 09:18 AM   #3
Lohman446

At the risk of sounding like I "don't respect the game" we give whitetail deer a lot more credit for toughness than they deserve. They are NOT that tough of an animal especially if you are taking reasonable shots at reasonable ranges.

220 grain hardcast lead is plenty to take down a whitetail with a good shot. So are the vast majority of the various other suggestions you have gotten and will get.
Old April 26, 2018, 09:35 AM   #4
Wyosmith

I have killed plenty of deer and antelope with handguns. 357 mags, 44 mags, 44 Spl and 454 Casull.
The 10MM auto beats the 357 in most cases. I am sure you will not have any problem if you shoot well. Any bullet of 180 grains that gives a good wound channel will kill any deer that walks. Cast bullets= LBT style, if your gun will feed them, or any good soft point)
Old April 26, 2018, 09:54 AM   #5
Runs With Fire