The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 24, 2014, 08:15 PM   #1
cdoc42

Learning is never over

I've been reloading for 38 years. I just learned something new tonight.

I had a box of Hornady 140gr SST in .270 that I was using to find the best load in a new Remington Model 700. The box was probably 5 or more years old. I established a seated length of 2.875" from ogive to base was 0.015" from the leade. I got a 100-yd 5-shot group of less than 1 inch (0.973") with 58 grains of H4831sc with a CCI 250 LR Magnum primer.

I was running out of bullets so I bought the last box on the shelf at Cabelas. They looked exactly like the bullets in the old box. No change in position of the cannelure. I had experienced that about 20 years ago with 175gr Hornady bullets in 7mm Rem Mag, which alerted me to remeasure my seating depth.

I had previously loaded 10 rounds with the new bullets, seated to 2.875" but they chambered with a bit of difficulty. I got the same good group so I thought little of it until tonight.

I loaded 10 rounds and decided to chamber one. Hard to chamber and even harder to get the bolt open. Knocked the bolt open with a rubber mallet.
Chambered empty brass no problem. Measured the ogive to base of the extracted round = 2.857" meaning it jammed into the leade at that length. My dummy round with the old bullet measured 2.890"to the leade = a difference of 0.033".

My chamber difficulty was because the new bullets had a different ogive position which was completely invisible to the naked eye. The new box of bullets had to be seated to 2.842" to be 0.015" from the leade!!

Now I have to go back out to the range to see if this will still give the same group.

I have NEVER experienced this before. A new box of the same bullet from the same manufacturer seated to the same measurement as the previous box always fired the same group. Learning is never over.