The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 28, 2015, 08:36 PM   #1
Mountainman6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: August 29, 2013
Location: Pinson, Alabama
Posts: 14
Crimping?????????

Ok first off I don't crimp any of my bolt action rifle loads! But I'm now loading for my ar15 and I had a couple of bullets get set back in the case while chambering on some test loads! So my question is in the reloading data do they compensate for the possible use of a crimp in the min-max load data?
Mountainman6 is offline  
Old August 28, 2015, 08:46 PM   #2
Mobuck
Junior member
 
Join Date: February 2, 2010
Posts: 6,847
I crimp ALL my loads for the AR. I think the variation is slight and would be taken into account as you work your loads up. Crimping bullets is not automatically bad.
Mobuck is offline  
Old August 28, 2015, 08:46 PM   #3
Longshot4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 22, 2014
Posts: 765
I rarely will go to max load. After all for what? I would simply back off three or four grains and start to work them up from there with your crimp. Now this is where I ask do your bullets have a crimping grove? I would want a grove to crimp on.
Longshot4 is offline  
Old August 28, 2015, 08:56 PM   #4
Mountainman6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: August 29, 2013
Location: Pinson, Alabama
Posts: 14
I use a lee factory crimp die and have only crimped very lightly just enough to lay the case mouth down on the cannelure of the bullet so there isn't a ridge on the case mouth
Mountainman6 is offline  
Old August 28, 2015, 09:35 PM   #5
Ifishsum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 15, 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 981
I'd say either you're not getting enough neck tension or your rifle is not feeding as it should (or both). Neither of my ARs set back bullets upon feeding, and in my experience if one does, even a crimp won't necessarily stop it.

In answer to your question, a proper crimp should not make a significant difference in pressure so I'd say no.
Ifishsum is offline  
Old August 28, 2015, 09:47 PM   #6
5whiskey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 23, 2005
Location: US
Posts: 3,120
My PC response is "if you change a variable, start at 10% of max and work your way up."

My real world experience response is crimping has ALMOST no measurable effect on pressure unless you act a fool with it and actually deform the projectile. Of course I don't burn the barn doors down with any of reloads unless I'm going to be shooting 500+ yards or I'm loading .357. My semi-auto pistol and AR loads are mild.

At any rate, to the OP, I put a pretty firm crimp on AR .223 rounds because I'm afraid of set back during chambering. Reloading data isn't separated by crimp/no crimp because it honestly doesn't make a difference. I will say, however, that the standard advice is to start at 10% max load and work up. No real reason to want max load AR plinking rounds anyway. Work it up until you hit the accuracy sweet spot and roll on with it.
5whiskey is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2018 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.04856 seconds with 10 queries