The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 23, 2018, 07:39 PM   #1
ReloadKy

C H reloading equipment

I had mentioned previously that I am relatively new to reloading (began last May). The equipment that I am starting with were handed down to me by my father in law. The press and scale along with a couple die sets are C H reloading equipment. Does anyone know much about that company or that equipment? I haven’t found much info online. I was also given a .308 die set that has the label Bair Cub on it. I haven’t found info on that either. Any help or info would be appreciated.
Old March 23, 2018, 09:37 PM   #2
LeverGunFan

CH Tool and Die and 4D Custom Die merged in 1990, they are still and business and are located in Mt. Vernon Ohio. I have a CH 444 press that I bought in 1985, I still use it for many of my reloading tasks. They are currently known as suppliers of dies for many obsolete and uncommon cartridges, and they still make many of the original CH presses along with many unique reloading tools.

Here is a link: http://www.ch4d.com/home

Do you know what press model you have? Reloading presses are generally very durable, I'd guess that it should work fine to get you started in reloading.
Old March 23, 2018, 10:44 PM   #3
FrankenMauser

Bair Cub dies are good dies. They started right around the corner from Pacific, in Lincoln, Nebraska. (I do not recall exactly what the deal was, but I believe the owner may have even split off from Pacific at some point.) If you follow the Bair lineage, you'll find the descendants of those dies and tools now wearing a "Hornady" brand name.
It sounds like you may not have it, but the original boxes for the Bair Cub dies were light blue injection-molded plastic and had an accompanying lid with a raised bear on the front (in an oval, inside a rectangle, reading "Bair Precision; Lincoln, NE").