The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 17, 2019, 07:04 PM   #1
KnightofCydonia

3.5" Supermag barrel on 870 Wingmaster V receiver

Hi,

I have a 1967 Wingmaster that's a V receiver, or 2 3/4" only. I only plan to shoot 2 3/4" in it, but the barrel that came with it is a 30" fixed full choke. I want to buy an Express barrel and a local one for sale is 3.5" supermagnum. I know the older wingmaster barrels are thinner in overall contour, will there be any fitment issues with a modern Express barrel being inserted into a vintage wingmaster receiver? I have an O-ring to secure the barrel nut. I've heard that the thicker Express contour barrels can cause rubbing against the fore-end wood as well.
Old July 18, 2019, 12:58 PM   #2
T. O'Heir

Nope. An 870 is an 870.
Put a rifle sighted slug barrel on my early 80's vintage Wingmaster(they weren't always the higher end Remington) with no fuss. The slug barrel weighs a whole bunch more and is a whole bunch thicker than the 30", Full choke, bird barrel it came with. No rings of any kind required either.
Old July 19, 2019, 10:32 AM   #3
Pahoo

Slight

I know that there might be a difference in the securing barrel lug. The older ones has a small BB that would settle into some dimples of the magazine tube or nut/cap. The newer barrels mag lugs do not have that BB. They do sell a conversion kit. Also, your barrel should say something like 3-1/2" only suitable for the mag receiver. Other than that, I am not aware of any fit differences. By the way, I have seen quite a number of older model barrels for sale and very reasonable. ….

Be Safe !!!
Old July 19, 2019, 12:27 PM   #4
jmr40

Quote:
Nope. An 870 is an 870.
Not so, there are lots of differences.