The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old April 29, 2017, 09:06 PM   #1
cjsoccer3

How can I self learn how to hunt?

Long story short I grew up in the city, and I have no knowledge of how to hunt anything.

I have taken a hunter safety course, and I don't mind if a how-to book was 300 pages. I just really want to learn.

I don't know what to bring to a hunt (besides a gun and safety gear), a cooler? with ice? I'm sorry but I just don't know.

Are there any great resources to self learn from? Books, maybe, the longer the better. Animal activity hours, scent masking, stands, stalking, calls, use of cameras, pressure, etc. I know the words but nothing about them.

Kind of sucks as I really want to do it.

Last edited by cjsoccer3; April 29, 2017 at 10:16 PM.
Old April 29, 2017, 10:44 PM   #2
shootniron

Congrats on having the desire to learn to hunt.

I am not sure what type animals you have an interest in hunting.

I would suggest that you contact your local game and fish department or officers and tell them what you would like to do and ask if they could give you some suggestions or put you in contact with someone that might give you some help.

Good luck and I hope that you develop a great sense of love and appreciation of game animals and the out of doors.
Old April 29, 2017, 10:51 PM   #3
dakota.potts

What part of the country are you located in?

I taught myself with a lot of what's on the forum here and I have not been often enough to say that I am a good or even successful hunter.