The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old June 7, 2009, 12:25 AM   #1
(BH)

Wingmaster 870 question....

ok, so i have a REMINGTON 870 WINGMASTER, and i want to convert it into my new HD 12 gauge. im in need of a new one because i just gave my Mossberg Cruiser to an old friend who needed it worse than me (recent break in/burglary cost him his only 2 guns). plus, i figured this could be a fun little afternoon project.

anyhow, i was hoping some folks could lead me to a good site to buy HD conversion kits for 870's. im not trying to spend a ton of money, but im not trying to go super cheap either. just looking for some "middle of the road" quality parts to make my old bird huntin' gun a bit more of an HD gun. i mean, isnt that the beauty of an 870, conversion compatibility?
Old June 7, 2009, 01:21 AM   #2
Steamboatsig

I just completed my 870 Wingmaster Build:
Speedfeed Tactical IV-S - $79 (La Police Gear)
Mako Forend - $50 (Craigslist)
Mesa Tactical 6 round Side Saddle - $30 (Craigslist)
Choate +2 Mag Extension - $49 (Midway USA)
Mossberg 18.5" Barrel - $119 (Midway USA)
Truglo Fat Bead - $4.99 (Bass Pro Shops)
BSA Holographic Sight - $37 (Natchez)
Surefire G2L - $69 (Turners) NOT PICTURED
StreamlightTLR-1 $125 (?) PICTURED
TacStar Tape Switch -$22 (Gun Show) NOT PICTURED

Last edited by Steamboatsig; June 7, 2009 at 01:46 PM.
Old June 7, 2009, 04:42 PM   #3
chuckles

Get a plus 2 or plus 3 mag extension tube, HD spring and a 18-21" barrel and you are set. Add a Surefire Light forearm when you come up a couple of hunderd bucks and you will have the best set-up. Side-saddles, speedfeed stocks, and other stuff is a matter of personal choice. When you buy a mag extension, get a good one. Nordic or Factory Remington as opposed to Tac star and other aftermarket brands. JMHO and as usual, YMMV>
Old June 7, 2009, 06:39 PM   #4
Dfariswheel