The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old October 29, 2018, 09:14 PM   #1
Trockstroh

Min barrel length to thread?

Is there a minimum length needed to thread a barrel for a 1/2x28 thread pattern? I am looking at buying a Marlin lever action that i would like to thread for a suppressor. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Old October 29, 2018, 09:28 PM   #2
FrankenMauser

No minimum length (other than staying legal) - just minimum diameter.

Every 'smith will have their own minimum.
"Industry standard" for 1/2-28 seems to be about 0.600" minimum.
Some 'smiths will go smaller if they're installing a custom muzzle brake.
Some 'smiths want more, no mater what will be installed.
I've seen some guys demand as much as 0.700" diameter to thread 1/2-28. (For a 0.100" nominal torque shoulder.)

Every 'smith has their own minimum.

My personal minimum for 1/2-28 is 0.610", but I am a hobbyist. ...And I don't even do the work myself.
Old October 29, 2018, 10:37 PM   #3
Unconventional

I imagine the OP is interested to know if he has enough barrel in front of the magazine tube to properly cut threads for a suppressor.

Did that really escape you Franken?
Old October 30, 2018, 12:57 AM   #4
Scorch

I've got one in the shop right now. No problem threading the barrel, but the magazine tube will have to be shortened about 1/2", and the front sight moved to the rear about 3/8". This will allow about 9/16" of threads to screw the can or adapter to.
Old October 30, 2018, 05:23 AM   #5
Unconventional

It also depends on which model of Marlin you have - some have a magazine tube that extends pretty close to the muzzle. The guide gun model has a shorter tube, but might still need the front sight moved.

Scorch, will you lose any capacity with the shorter magazine tube? Will you be -1 round in the magazine?
Old October 30, 2018, 11:01 AM   #6
FrankenMauser

Quote:
Did that really escape you Franken?
No, it did not.