The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old June 18, 2014, 11:12 AM   #1
Trum4n1208

BP Replicant .45 Colt Roundball loads

Howdy all.

Since I'm constrained by a minimum wage budget while I'm in College, I thought I'd attempt using .454 lead balls in my .45 colt cartridges as a plinking load. They're being fired out of an 1875 Remmington copy. Basically, I'm using 35 grains of Alliant Black MZ (BP is extremely tough to find in my area), a lubricated felt wad, the ball seated by a rubber mallet and then crimped. Lastly, I've put just a bit of bore butter over the balls.

From what I've read, there should be no problem doing this, despite the difference between my .452 barrel and the .454 ball (from what I've read, the soft lead ball will fire okay). That being said, this is my first attempt doing this, and as I A) dearly love my Remington and can't afford to replace it, and B) would really rather not be sent to the hospital because of some unforeseen failure in said Remington, I thought I'd run it by you folks, see if there's anything else I'm forgetting or should do. I've only made 5 rounds, was planning on seeing what you all say before I continue.

Thanks a bunch!
Old June 18, 2014, 03:03 PM   #2
noelf2

I did the same thing some years ago with .451 balls. I would say that if you can get them to chamber, you are golden. The .454 balls will probably get swaged down in the cylinder chambers anyway. IIRC, I used 35 gr real fffg and a bees wax lubed felt wad between the ball and powder. Was dead on accurate, to my surprise.
Old June 18, 2014, 09:04 PM   #3
James K
Member In Memoriam

If they are well crimped, you should have no problems. But a round ball has no crimping groove so you have to crimp a bit above the "equator".

Jim
Old June 18, 2014, 09:09 PM   #4
B.L.E.