The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 26, 2012, 11:30 AM   #1
DarthNul

Removing military primer crimps

How much of a pain in the posterior is it to remove primer crimps from 5.56 brass?

I am building myself an AR and I plan to start reloading for 5.56x45 after I break in the barrel (and the rest of the gun) with commercial ammo. I've been reloading for pistol calibers for a few years now but this will be my first foray into bottle-neck rifle cartridges, and possibly military brass.

I plan to use commercial ammo for barrel break-in and to build my confidence in the gun before I void the warranty with my hand-loads. The other goal is to generate some once-fired brass with which to get started on the reloading.

The best deals I'm finding (that are actually "in stock") are for bulk cans of Federal/Lake city, but if it's going to be too much of a pain, or cost too much in new tools to de-crimp what may be only one batch of brass, I'll have to find something else.
Old March 26, 2012, 11:44 AM   #2
sc928porsche

RCBS makes a military crimp remover that works well. It is well worth the money.
Old March 26, 2012, 11:47 AM   #3
ScottRiqui

The Dillon "Super Swager" makes it a breeze, but at ~$90, it's pricey. I have several thousand pieces of 5.56 brass, but I've ended up just de-crimping a few hundred, and I'll use those until they split or I lose them, then I'll do up another batch.
Old March 26, 2012, 12:59 PM   #4
erikivy

I use the $10 Hornady reamer. If doing more than an handful of cases, I remove the bit from the tool and chuck it up in my cordless drill. It makes it very easy to mow through a few hundred cases in no time.

If money were no object, I'd get the Dillon unit for sure, but the Hornady one above is great if you're on a budget.
Old March 26, 2012, 12:59 PM   #5
RobertInIowa