The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 29, 2014, 09:29 PM   #1
Devdev08

remington 1100

I just bought a Remington 1100 online and looking for reassurance I got a good deal.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/Vie...Item=417856404
Old May 29, 2014, 11:34 PM   #2
colbad

A little rough for my taste from the photo, but a great gun in general. I love my old 1100 and have put thousands of rounds through it on the trap/skeet range and only have changed the gas/O rings. My Uncle gave it to me when I was a poor college student shooting on my college team back in 1977-81. It was probably 20 years old back then. Although I can now afford pretty much any kind of gun made, it is still fun to occasionally shoot the old 1100 and recall some great memories. It also still comes to shoulder like it was custom made.

Yours would probably make a good truck or duck blind gun as is. Sometimes, having a knock around gun you don't mind getting scratched is not a bad thing if reliable. I would get some new gas rings to have on hand. Take it to someone who knows how to put on a recoil pad and that will resolve the issue there. $300 is not too bad if it functions reliable. If you are good with wood, I would consider refinishing it.
Old May 30, 2014, 04:49 AM   #3
Virginian