The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 19, 2020, 06:46 PM   #1
ReloadKy

CBTO vs COAL question

Since I am starting to reload a new cartridge in 7mm-08 I am trying to do some things a lot different and hopefully learn some things along the way. I have never fired this rifle and decided that before I loaded any ammo I would try to compare CBTO vs. COAL. I used the Hornady LNL gauge / modified case and the hornady comparator. I am starting out with 2 different bullets the 120 and the 140 Nosler ballistic tips. The CBTO for both was either 2.285 / 2.286. I used a second set of calipers to measure the COAL of the exact same trials and the OAL was 2.873. This measurement is 0.073 longer than SAAMI specs.

Would it be okay for me to attempt to load at this length?? My magazine is 3.029 inches so the cartridge would fit. I am new to this technique and concept so any help would be appreciated.
Old March 19, 2020, 07:05 PM   #2
USSR

I used this tool before Hornady bought it and it was called Stoney Point. Here is what I found in developing precision long range loads using it. Never load to a COAL that corresponds to the CBTO measurement you took. Reason? Bullet ogives vary on even good match bullets such as the Sierra Matchking, due to them coming off different machines at the factory. If you load to the corresponding COAL, you will undoubtedly have some of your bullets seating into the lands and some of them slightly off the lands. Not exactly conducive to accuracy. If I was having them soft seat when I chambered the cartridge, I would seat them 0.020" longer then the aforementioned COAL, otherwise, 0.010" short to account for ogive differences. Just what I found and did in competitive long range shooting.

Don
Old March 19, 2020, 07:40 PM   #3
big al hunter