The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 23, 2017, 01:26 PM   #1
TheLastGoodFight

Walker as a hunting companion

My state recently legalized carrying a black powder revolver with your single shot rifle during primitive rifle season. I have a Richland Arms Co. Walker reproduction that I'd like to carry with my rifle but I have no experience with actual black powder, especially not revolvers.
This one seems best suited for .451 lead balls, in spite of the Walker repro's tendency to like .454.
My questions are twofold:
1. Can someone recommend a black powder deer load for the Walker? I was thinking 60gr of black powder but could use some advice.
2. I use Hodgdon 50/50 Pyrodex pellets for my modern muzzle loader rifle and I'm wondering if there is a safe way to use the same thing, or other smokeless propellants for the Walker.
Old October 23, 2017, 01:46 PM   #2
T. O'Heir

You have to work up the load same as you do smokeless. Buy a copy of The Lyman BP Handbook and Reloading Guide. About $30 at your local gun shop or Amazon. I think it has loads developed for the Walker. Not at home to look. It's a pretty good read too.
Old October 23, 2017, 02:46 PM   #3
rodwhaincamo

NEVER use smokeless in any BP gun unless it's one of the few designed for it.

Those pellets are a BP substitute and not smokeless powder.

Your necessary load would be dependent upon the powder you choose. They do make .44 cal pellets but I believe they only come in 30 grn variety.