The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old January 14, 2006, 11:42 PM   #1
Duffy1

Speed holsters

I've been shooting for less than 2 years and last summer I participated in 7 IPSC matches and 5 IDPA matches. Used a Kramer leather holster and mag holders. Nice holster but it isn't built for speed. There are many choices in holsters; Safariland 5012, 012, Ghost, CR... The list is extensive. I could use some help in defining what I should be looking for in a speed holster - the good, the bad and the ugly and what you folks would recommend and why. Specific examples would be greatly appreciated.

On another note; I've seen several folks do a "spray and pray" on a COF and they usually finish near the bottom. My thinking is that if you get your mind wired for accuracy speed will follow. Like everything else it's practice. Can you give me some ideas what I could be practicing to improve accuracy. BTW - I'm not a bad shot (if I say so myself) - at the range I can typically hit 2" clusters at 40 feet (sometimes tighter and sometimes...).

Thanks,

Smith & Wesson 627, Ed Brown Classic Custom S/S
NightHawk Custom - Talon w/ Bull barrel
Les Baer Premier ll - 1.5", Springfield Armory
Dillon 650 reloader
Old January 15, 2006, 10:35 AM   #2
HSMITH