The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 21, 2015, 11:04 PM   #1
brannose

Would like confirmation on 9mm load

I'm a newbie and would like to get confirmation on a 9mm load.

147 gr Xtreme HP plated bullets, 5.2 gr HS6, CCI 500 primers, 1.11 col.

According to Xtreme, their plated bullets should be good at midrange FMJ load ranges. According to my Lyman book, 4.8 to 5.8 grs. is the range for 147 gr fmj. I did some test loads starting at 4.8 gr. and the 5.2 grain load shot well and cycled the gun just fine, so I decided to go with it.

My only concern is the lack of actual info for the Xtreme plated bullets. I've read that they can be treated the same as fmj and also read that they should be treated like lead. Hodgdon has 5 gr as the limit for 147gr. lead bullets.

Any thoughts/concerns on this load? Thanks.
Old January 21, 2015, 11:58 PM   #2
chris in va

If 5.2 functions well with no signs of overpressure, then you've found a good load. Incidentally this is where a chronograph comes in handy to check your rounds.
Old January 22, 2015, 12:32 AM   #3
Nick_C_S

Quote:
147 gr Xtreme HP plated bullets, 5.2 gr HS6, CCI 500 primers, 1.11 col.
Sounds about right. I don't load a lot of 9mm (I happen to have a lot of factory), but I do load a 147g lead with 5.0g HS-6, CCI 500 primers. It's a mild and good shooting round. I'm sure your 5.2g is right in the ball park.

Quote:
According to Xtreme, their plated bullets should be good at midrange FMJ load ranges.
That's basically correct. In the case of 9mm/147g, there's no need to get overly concerned about over driving them. If it were 357 Sig, I'd have a different response.

Quote:
My only concern is the lack of actual info for the Xtreme plated bullets.
Relax. Most all 147's basically have the same shape, and they all behave about the same - in this instance, 147 data is 147 data.

Quote: