The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 3, 2013, 03:14 PM   #1
martin1833

Poor neck tension

I've been reloading for handgun a couple years and haven't run into this before. I just began handloading/reloading 44 mag. The Winchester brass I used for handloading rounds from scratch works great. I've already reloaded it a few times and it's problem-free.

I bought some Rem UMC ammo. The factory rounds' neck tension is fine, but when I reload it, the tension isn't good at all. Even after crimping I can push the bullets into the case. These same bullets work fine with my Winchester brass.

Is the Rem UMC brass I have just weak, or is there anything else that might be going on?
Old March 3, 2013, 04:35 PM   #2
oldpapps

Lets work through this.

Clean and inspect some brass. Look for any splits in the neck. OK, didn't expect any. Steel sizing DIE, lube well and size. Carbide sizing DIE, lube very lightly and size. OK, now check how BIG or tight the case mouth is, turn a bullet nose down and stick it into a case. Can you easily push it in? If you can, your sizing DIE is not doing what it is designed to do.

As I don't know the DIE set you are using.. At some place the case mouth is 'belled'. Only a sight 'bell' is needed and wanted. Back 'it' out till that is all you get.

Load one round, primer, powder and bullet. STOP! Don't do anything more than seat the bullet and at this point it doesn't have to be fully seated. Can you push the bullet into the case? If so, look at each step. If not, continue.

The 'CRIMP'. Load a suitable number of round with NO crimp. Take them to shoot and try them. Fire these rounds. Check for bullets moving forward between shots. If none moved, this loading doesn't need to be crimped. Very, very few loading need to be crimped. (Note, some powders do better with a harder pull. But lets get past one hurdle at a time.)