The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 29, 2011, 08:24 PM   #1
rivertrash

.270 reloads too tight in breech

I have been reloading since 1977 and for some reason my .270 recent loads do not fit well in my rifle. I have checked case length and overall length and both are good. My bolt does not close easily on some of the cartridges, not all of them, maybe 30% of them. I have had these rcbs dies since 1977 and have loaded several thousand rounds with them. Do they wear out? Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks
Old December 29, 2011, 08:28 PM   #2
kraigwy

Dies do wear out. I'd recommend getting a "case gage" to check the finished case and set up your sizing die.

Betcha a new sizing die will fix the problem.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old December 29, 2011, 09:43 PM   #3
mehavey

Quote:
My bolt does not close easily on some of the cartridges, not all of them, maybe 30% of them.
First question is whether the brass is same group/brand/firing history.
Work-stiffened brass will "spring back" from shoulder bumping more than other brass.

Second question is whether you are full-length resizing "plus turn" to ensure
the reloading press isn't spring a bit under load.
Old December 29, 2011, 10:13 PM   #4
454PB

Any chance the bullets are jamming into the leade?

You could test that by seating the bullet .020" deeper on one of the rounds that resists chambering.
Old December 29, 2011, 10:15 PM   #5
mrawesome22

Probably just need to push the shoulder back a little more.
Old December 29, 2011, 10:51 PM   #6
JerryM

I suspect it is a die adjustment problem. Some dies will not fully resize the case unless you screw the die down with the shell holder cleared. I also have experienced the need to file down the shell holder so the case would be properly resized.

Trial and error is the only way to get the adjustment just right.
Jerry