The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 10, 2010, 01:34 PM   #1
RetiredMajor

First time loading 9mm

I'm still new to handloading and have loaded about 1000 rounds of 45ACP. I've fired about half of those and am doing well and having fun with it.

Now, I'm ready to convert over to 9mm. I'll be using once fired brass, Remington Small Pistol Primers, jacketed round nose bullets, and Hodgdon HP-38 powder.

Anything I should keep in mind with the 9mm loads? I'd appreciate advice from those of you who load 9mm.

Thanks,
Major
Old March 10, 2010, 01:39 PM   #2
Nate1778

Get the correct length, light crimp, just enough to take the bell out. Watch out for military primer crimps in your brass. You can tell it usually by a two number date of manufacturer, a NATO symbol and it usually won't say the name or caliber. The ones I run into the most are marked WCC. Remember the 9mm is a tapered case and you'll feel a bit more resistance in the press then the .45. Good luck.
Old March 10, 2010, 02:04 PM   #3
doctruptwn

Nate thanks for adding that about the resistance. I'm in the same boat as the OP and had just deprimed some brass this morning and noticed there was some added resistance. Wondered if that was normal.
Old March 10, 2010, 02:52 PM   #4
jepp2

The 9mm is a much higher pressure round. It is also much more susceptible to subtle changes in OAL that can result in dramatic increases in pressure.

Just be sure you aren't getting any setback when the round is chambered and make sure you know the OAL for the load you are developing, and be very cautious about making them shorter.
Old March 11, 2010, 09:47 AM   #5
shu

Indeed. SAAMI max pressure for
45ACP ..... 21,000 psi
9mm lugar 35,000 psi
9mm +P ... 38,500 psi
9mm NATO 42,000 psi