The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 19, 2014, 10:03 AM   #1
Kslatton

New to reloading

Hey guys I'm new to reloading. Does anyone know where I can get information on powders? Or do any of you have any words of wisdom on choosing a powder. I will be reloading mostly 9mm & .40. At some point I will move onto .223. Thanks
Old August 19, 2014, 10:26 AM   #2
kilimanjaro

Get at least one reloading manual and look up the recommended powders for your caliber and bullet weight. Pick the one with the results you want and use it. Stick with the one powder for a while. Don't use max loads until you know what you're doing.

Check what powder is available, might be limited to begin with.
Old August 19, 2014, 10:28 AM   #3
oldpapps

Welcome to the forum and I'm sorry about the addiction you have decided to embark on, if you are like me, you will enjoy it greatly.

Now to your question/s.
Start by reading the sticky above. Then order or buy or find more than one loading manuals. Read them until you know what is next.
Next, supplement the above listed books with the on-line resources, in no particular order:
http://www.hodgdon.com/
http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloaders/default.aspx
http://reloadersnest.com/index.asp
http://stevespages.com/page8a.htm

That should keep you active for a bit.

And finally to selecting 'powder'. Two problems here. First is picking the one or ones you want to try first, that is where the links above will help. And the last one is finding any. Please don't be a 'grab and buy' person with no idea what some powder is used for. Picking up a pound of some ultra slow powder and then trying to find a loading for it in your 9MM is not the way to do it. Read and understand the uses and names of powders, then look for them.