The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old October 13, 2017, 05:03 PM   #1
Oyster Stew

22lr effective as?

Hi, Im a bit of a noob here, so forgive any faults!
Had this thought, I wanted to see others swing at it.
Lets see how you compare your carry round to 22lr.

How many 22s would it take to equal the effectiveness of a 9mm or your carry round. A signal 22lr doesn't compare to a 9mm, but what about a double or triple tap? A triple tap is about the same ft lbs as a 9mm. It would be over multiple softer impacts instead of one large one. Perhaps its an improvement? KEEP IN MIND this is a stressful situation and shot placement would likely be less than ideal.

My question is how many 22lrs on target would you be comfortable replacing one shot of a carry caliber?

I would be on the fence with 3 Im thinking 4 would be better than 1 9mm.
Old October 13, 2017, 05:08 PM   #2
CDR_Glock

Shot placement is key. Problem is it doesn’t have the hydrostatic shock. I’d guess somewhere around 5.

Instagram: MuzzleblastMD
Old October 13, 2017, 05:26 PM   #3
jmr40

Whether you are hunting or shooting for self defense the 1st hit is far more effective than anything after that. If the 1st one doesn't do the job right now, then it could take a bunch more regardless of the caliber. After the 1st bullet hits adrenaline kicks in and anything else has much less effect.

I think a better way of looking this is to try to put a number on how effective the 1st shot is going to be. Not everyone agrees, but the results from numerous studies show that FMJ ammo of any caliber works roughly 60%-65% of the time. The better HP ammo is in the 85%-95% range. There have been results for 22 LR, but I don't recall the exact figures. But IIRC it is in the 50% range.