The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old March 2, 2014, 04:26 PM   #1
JLK

Chokes question

I am new to shooting trap, I have a 12guage with 28 inch. Barrel .
What chokes would you recommend I have a skeet and ic in now .
Also using AA what size is best, low velocity or 1300 fps skeet load?
And finally do you really tell the difference with chokes with a 5%
Reduction in recoil?
Thanks lot of questions
Old March 2, 2014, 05:03 PM   #2
NoSecondBest

Trap shooters usually use a Full or Improved Mod chokes. Many use Full and Full. I'm not sure what you mean by 5% reduction in recoil attributed to a choke. Chokes don't reduce recoil at all. If you're shooting trap, spend some time talking to other shooters and you'll find out where to point the gun in relation to the house before calling for the bird and what shells they are using. Trap usually is shot with shot size seven and a half. You'll learn a lot more at the range than you will on here on what you need and how to do it. Good luck and shoot safe.
Old March 2, 2014, 05:29 PM   #3
JLK

Bailey chokes offer an extended choke that is ported claiming
A 5 % reduction in recoil, if any one on this forum has used these
I wondered if they can tell the difference in 5 % reduction.
Old March 2, 2014, 07:19 PM   #4
NoSecondBest

Most of my shotguns are ported. I sent them out to get this done. The reality is that I can't really tell the difference. I don't think it did much for me. I also shot a lot of shotgun competitivley. I can't see using a ported choke making any discernible difference.
Old March 2, 2014, 07:23 PM   #5
BigJimP