The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 18, 2009, 11:52 PM   #1
jewelryguy

help with handloading .40 S&W (new reloader)

I am new to relaoding, need sem help.

I have a glock .22. After much research I replaced barrel for better support and lead cast capable with a lonewolf after searching long and hard to find one in stock soemwhere.

Started out with 170 gr T. cone cast bullets from missouri bullet.( i like cast because cost is less and not on backorder right now) Made some dummy rounds, they wouldnt feed right, lip on cone always gets caught on top of barrel at leats 1 our of every 4 feeds, so cant use them except to shoot one at a time to avoid throwing 500 bullets away.

So i order teh regular .40 cast form missouri, they came int oday, i made soem dummy rounds. They feed right everytime. Problem solved.

I have a Lee 4 touret, never reloaded before. I hace every thing set up, have poweder measure thing all set up right, practiced loading soem dummy rounds, 15-20, i feel confident in what i am doing now after several hours of research and setting up dies, reading instructions etc.

Kepp in mind how power load sdont interest me. My primary interest is being able to load cheaper than store bought, and low recoil quick target aquisition for some local competitions i sometimes compete in. Want to keep it around 900+ fps, that way i figure i use less powder since its so hard to get.

So heres what i have:

PMC small pistol primers
180 Gr missouri cast bullets
Once fired blazer and remington brass
Ramshot Sillhouette pistol powder ( only thing i could find in stock anywhere)

So here is question i have

Nowhere is there a recipe i can find using the materials i have, i did not have the luxury of buying exactly what any particular recipe calls for because nothing is in stock. So i had to take what i could get my hands on

Questions: