The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old August 28, 2018, 08:56 AM   #1
armednfree

Howa 6.5 Creedmoor

I see this heavy barrel Howa action in 6.5 Creed sold by Brownell's. Price is right, since if I bought a Ruger American I would have to restock it anyway, but how accurate are they? I have no experience with Howa.
Old August 28, 2018, 10:32 AM   #2
LineStretcher

They're good enough for Weatherby on their production rifles. Weatherby uses Krieger barrels on most of their custom shop rifles. I have one in .308 on a AR 10 and it shoots sub moa at 100 yards.
Old August 28, 2018, 05:46 PM   #3
jmr40

Quote:
if I bought a Ruger American I would have to restock it anyway,
No you wouldn't. No aftermarket stock will ever make it shoot a bit more accurately. If you can't live with the aesthetics then you may CHOOSE to buy another stock, but you certainly don't have to. I'd keep it as is and put the money toward better optics.

I'd not have any doubts that the Howa is probably very similar, but it wouldn't be any better.

If I didn't like the aesthetics of the Ruger and wanted to spend more money I'd make sure it was an upgrade instead of a lateral move. The Ruger, Bergara, Howa/vanguard are all very similar out of the box, but the Ruger is the least expensive. I think this is the next step up in performance. And it isn't that much more expensive than either of the others + an aftermarket stock.

http://www.tikka.fi/en-us/rifles/tik...tactical-rifle

Winston Churchill
Old August 30, 2018, 07:27 AM   #4
Mobuck

"if I bought a Ruger American I would have to restock it anyway"
I never understood why someone would buy a low price point rifle(or anything else for that matter) and then spend a bunch of $$ to make it look different.
Old August 30, 2018, 08:49 AM   #5
armednfree