The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old April 29, 2017, 01:32 AM   #1
TruthTellers

SBS options

I've always thought that the shortest shotgun one can have is the best for home defense. Recently, there was a video about a side by side break open shotgun with barrels that were cut down to 3 inches. Personally, I would never consider such a shotgun a useful defense gun and a waste of a $200 tax stamp.

But, at the end of the video, the guy put a 12 inch barrel onto the frame and it clicked: you could put ANY length of barrels onto the frame because the gun is already a SBS.

I like such versatility. I'd probably want a 12 inch barrel on a SBS, but then a regular length barrel like 20 or 26 inches.

So, with that known, who are some side by side shotgun manufacturers who offer spare barrels? The shotgun used in the video happened to be a Stoeger Coach Gun. I have no experience with Stoeger, are they any good?

Also, given the concept, would any pump shotguns be a good candidate for a tactical/versatile SBS? I would imagine that a pump gun with a 14 inch barrel would only be able to hold five in the tube, but a 20 inch barrel pump can hold up to eight. Would there be a way to switch between the different barrels and put an extension on the mag tube?
Old April 29, 2017, 12:05 PM   #2
ShootistPRS

There are extended mag tubes for the 870 and it can swap barrels.
The 500 can swap barrels but the mag tube is limited because the magazine lug is on the barrel. You would need to match the barrel with the mag tube.
Old April 29, 2017, 07:33 PM   #3
TruthTellers

So, the 870's lug isn't located on the barrel then?

As for the Mossberg 500 and 590's, they don't have extended mag tubes available that the barrel lug would work with?

EDIT: Also, why couldn't I just remove the 5 round mag tube on a Mossberg and replace it entirely with an 8 round tube and buy the appropriate longer barrel for that?