The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 28, 1999, 04:56 PM   #1
shooter45

DOES ANYONE HAVE GOOD LOADS FOR THE 44 AMP ? I'M NEW TO THE GUN AND I'M LOOKING FOR ANY RELIABLE INFORMATION

THANKS
Old March 28, 1999, 11:30 PM   #2
Mort

My eyes! My eyes!
Old March 29, 1999, 12:42 AM   #3
Mal H
Staff

What Mort means, if you haven't figured it out, is that when you use all caps, it looks like you're yelling at us. And we usually don't wear ear protection when online.

Of all the reloading manuals I have, only Hodgdon and Hornady have info on the 44 Auto Mag, but they have quite a few loads listed. If you don't have access to one of these, (and you probably don't or you wouldn't have asked) and you can't buy or borrow one, let me know what your favorite powder is (2400, H110, W296, IMR427) and I will put up the min/max loads. But, I feel uncomfortable doing this because I have to check and double check the data.

[This message has been edited by Mal H (edited March 29, 1999).]
Old March 29, 1999, 12:26 PM   #4
fal308
Staff Alumnus

Go to Shooters and click on directories then products (I think) and you shall be rewarded with a multitude of powder manufacturers links to on-line loading manuals. www.shooters.com
Old March 29, 1999, 01:38 PM   #5
Mal H
Staff

fal308,

That was also my first thought. In fact I had included the web sites in my message to shooter45. But, then I checked the sites and they don't have 44 AM info so I edited my message. 44 AM is not widely used so I think the only place to get info is in a few loading manuals.
Old March 29, 1999, 04:53 PM   #6
Walt Welch