The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old March 28, 2020, 07:08 PM   #1
logeorge

AR rework

I don't know a lot about ARs. I'm working on this Colt Target model with built-in carrying handle with rear sight. I got a new receiver with flat top in order to get the scope down to a reasonable height above the bore. I thought I made it clear that I didn't want M4 feed ramps, as the original doesn't have them. They sent one with M4 ramps anyway. People on forums say you can't use a ramped receiver with a non-M4 barrel assembly and trying to match the old barrel to the receiver ramps is certain doom. Any reason I can't wax coat the barrel extension, de-grease the ramps in the receiver, and fill them in with JB Weld? Is looks to me like if the bullet noses were striking the receiver below the barrel extension, I would be having feed problems already. So far it has fed anything I've tried in it. I worked as a Toolmaker in the auto industry for 29 years and I believe I could grind the feed ramps successfully, but see no reason to, if it's not necessary. What you think? L. O. G.
Old March 28, 2020, 11:58 PM   #2
rickyrick

Get another receiver.

If the receiver has ramps and the extension doesn’t, it probably won’t feed correctly.

If you have a carry-handle receiver, someone may pay a decent price for it as they aren’t easily found.

Another suggestion, get a barrel with M4 ramps on the extension or have a Smith install an extension with M4 ramps. Most stuff now days has the ramps.
Old March 29, 2020, 06:31 AM   #3
brasscollector

You can do as you wish, it's your project but I wouldn't fill in with epoxy OR grind them out myself. Personally I would buy a new barrel to go with the new M4 receiver. Everything has the M4 cuts nowadays, hard to find a flat top w/o them.
Old March 29, 2020, 03:00 PM   #4
logeorge

AR rework