The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old November 3, 2009, 10:55 PM   #1
Shipman515

Sentry Safe Gun Safes

I'm finally in the market for a safe and was just wondering what the opinions are on a 500 dollar safe. My local academy sports has this safe for sale for 500 dollars. According to Sentry's website, MSRP is approximately 1100 dollars. I'm on a tight budget but really can't afford to have guns lying around my apartment for the taking if it happens to be broken into. I'm a college student and therefore, on a tight budget and this one seems to meet my demands. http://www.sentrysafe.com/products/p....si_p=CartView

Any input appreciated.

Last edited by Shipman515; November 4, 2009 at 07:45 PM.
Old November 3, 2009, 11:26 PM   #2
SA1911A1/45

I can not comment on Sentry safes. I was in Costco yesterday and they have a nice little fire proof safe for about $500. It is a Winchester gun safe. I believe the weight was 500#. More weight, harder to move. With guns etc in it, it weighs that much more.
Old November 3, 2009, 11:43 PM   #3
cloudcroft

I have found that within the various pricing brackets, most brands of "safes" (actualy, it's an RSC) are pretty similar, so $500 will pretty much get you the same basic product. Consequently, just get one you think is sturdy enough for you and seems to be the best build quality, thickest steel in its class....at the best price for your budget (in this case $500).

Sure, people are going to tell you to spend more $$ on a better "safe" but like you said, just get what you can afford. And as you have already mentioned, a "safe" is a whole lot better than just trying to hide guns in some closet or under the bed.

The Sentry GS1459E will be fine for your needs, although the one with the combination lock (GS1459C) instead of the electronic lock would be better for a couple f reasons, (1) because it'll be cheaper and (2) mechanical locks seem to be more durable/reliable.