The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old September 3, 2006, 09:34 PM   #1
pangris

1000+ lumen rechargable flashlight... review of Black Bear's Borealis

I am generally intrigued by the technical aspects of things that are the best at what they do. In the last few years, flashlights in general have dramatically improved. The technology has improved by leaps and bounds with regard to almost every aspect from basic construction and power supply to the reflector and bulbs.

Being from the Gulf coast, I liked flashlights before Katrina… afterwards, I have to say I consider them second only to guns and gasoline in an emergency situation. A light that is exceptionally bright AND rechargeable is essential.

I started playing with a Surefire 6P about 15 years ago. At the time it was by far the most amazing flashlight I had used. Since then I’ve owned a bunch of Surefires, Streamlights, etc etc – and I’ve also spent almost as much on CR123A lithium batteries as the lights themselves.

Being a flashlight nut, I took notice of a gentleman doing high performance conversions to factory lights a couple years ago. He is on a number of forums and people that bought the lights seemed satisfied. They caught my interest but I like to play with things before I shell out that kind of money, so I never got around to buying one. It turns out writing reviews about everything I find interesting has a fringe benefit – I was given the opportunity to play with not only one but two of these conversions.

"Black Bear" is the man behind the “Borealis” (previously known as the MAG 951) and the “Bear Cub” along with a number of other lights. People have been tinkering with off the shelf lights for a while but Black Bear offers a turn-key light like I’ve never seen. The Borealis offers 1050 lumens for 45 minutes in a rechargeable package.

A decked out, polished Borealis with a custom bezel and lanyard