The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 2, 2019, 06:14 PM   #1
HighValleyRanch

Lightest and smallest reloading press?

I already have a Rock Chucker 1 press setup, but thinking about looking into a very portable, lightweight moblie setup for car, camping, prepper, etc.

This will be mainly for 9mm and .38 spl/.357 pistol/rifle loads.

Any other choices between the lyman and lee hand presses?
A super lightweight stationary press?
Advantages and disavantages of the lyman 310 tool vs. lee hand press.
The lyman looks outdated and expensive, but very portable.
Old January 2, 2019, 06:58 PM   #2
LeverGunFan

The Buchanan Precision Machine hand reloading press is a remake of the older Huntington hand press, it's spendy but looks well made, seen here.

Another option is the Harrel's Precision compact reloading press, also expensive, at this link.

I have no experience with either press, buying one of these is too extravagant for me.
Old January 2, 2019, 07:20 PM   #3
Mobuck

LEE open front C-type
Old January 2, 2019, 07:34 PM   #4
HighValleyRanch

Thanks for the links. Very informative. I wasn't aware that existed.
Old January 2, 2019, 07:34 PM   #5
GWS

Maybe not the lightest, but it's very portable has a small footprint. Love it when away from my Rock Chucker, and I like it mounted next to my Rock Chucker as well.....excels at pistol, handy used right along side the R.C.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2i9phIfc0SE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Rp7lYXvbMw

Last edited by GWS; January 2, 2019 at 07:40 PM.
Old January 2, 2019, 07:44 PM   #6
hounddawg

if all you are doing is seating an arbor press works great, I have also used the Lee handloader and have a Lee O press mounted on a board that I take along with a couple of woodworking bar clamps. I have used all three and if you have well prepped cases you would no difference in runout and of the three the Lee O is the most useful