The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 29, 2007, 09:54 AM   #1
Ruthless4christ

New re-loader

Hey ya’ll, I have never done any re-loading before, but am very interested in starting to re-load all my handgun ammo. Down here in central America a box of 50rnds Armscor 9mm cost $17. Box of .45 Aguila (mexican ammo) cost $26 so I am pretty desperate to start reloading.
I will prob be loading around 2500 rounds a month (I shoot a lot) and i will be re-loading auto and revolver rounds. does anybody have any suggestions as to what brand of machine I should get?
Thanks!
Old June 29, 2007, 10:01 AM   #2
Erich

I've been happily using my inexpensive Lee equipment for over 20 years with no problems whatsoever. I've acquired equipment by Dillon, RCBS, Lyman and Redding as well. For what it's worth, for the basic equipment, I think Lee represents a better value.

Espero que usted goce de su nueva mania.
Old June 29, 2007, 11:47 AM   #3
Dondor

Try the reloading forum as this thread will most likely get moved.

But to answer your question. I use a Lee Classic Kit. ~$90 from Sportsman's Warehouse. $24 for 1000 primers, same place. $25 for a reloading manual. $40 for a good set of carbide dies and $6 for the shellholder. $17 for powder, and $45 for 1000 lead bullets.

Other stuff you can buy $45 for a cheapo tumbler, and $15 for media to polish with.

Hope you keep your fired brass ))

For the amount of reloading you are going to be doing, look into a progressive. They are a bit more difficult to set up, but doing 2500 by hand on a single stage press would be mind numbing.
Old June 29, 2007, 12:41 PM   #4
uzimon

the cheapest is the lee turret.
set up in 1 cal for a little over a hundred
i've had a couple of these. they require a bit of cleaning, lube & maint.
mine kinda went to crap as i aint really into lube & maint

top of the line is dillon, over $600, if i remember right