The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old July 15, 2017, 11:26 PM   #1
bricz75

Thompson Center Compass compared to other budget rifles?

I noticed there is a $75 rebate for the Thompson Center Compass rifle. A few 'net retailers have them hovering around $325 before rebate, and one or two of them for $300.

I've read next to nothing about this model compared to other budget rifles. Any opinions on these? How do they compare to winchester xpr, ruger american, savage axis, howa 1500 and mossberg patriot?
Old July 16, 2017, 12:07 AM   #2
Scorch

They appear to be the Remington 710 in drag.
Old July 16, 2017, 05:14 PM   #3
jmr40

The TC Venture is well thought of. But like you I have no 1st or 2nd hand experience with the Compass. Never read a comment good or bad about them. Not much info out there on the Winchester XPR either, but the little I've read is positive.

The Howa 1500 however doesn't really belong in the budget class of rifles. I'd rate it right with the Savage 10/110 series or Remington 700 rifles. They are good rifles built without a lot of the money savings measures used on most of the "budget" rifles. If that is important to you. While they may not be as aesthetically pleasing most of the budget rifles shoot surprisingly well.

I do have enough experience with the Ruger American that regardless of price or perceived quality I'd choose one over most rifles considered top end costing 3X as much.

Winston Churchill
Old July 16, 2017, 07:49 PM   #4
Old Stony

I have to agree with jmr40.....The Ruger American tops them all and will outshine a lot of high dollar rifles. I have one in 6.5 Creedmore and have yet to find any ammo that won't shoot a 1/2 inch group.
Old July 16, 2017, 08:52 PM   #5
bricz75

Quote: