The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 26, 2012, 04:28 AM   #1
Josh17

Glock 26 Gen 3 brand new - constant fails

Okay, so I am BRAND NEW to semi-autos. So this very well could be a user problem. But when I test fired my Glock 26 Gen 3 for the first time, it jammed/malfunctioned on nearly every shot. I shot maybe a total of 20 rounds. I think the most rounds I could get it to fire, in a row, was two. Otherwise everytime I fired, it failed to eject the round from the slide. From what I've read online, there are three times of 'fails' for Glocks- type 1, type 2, and type 3. I believe I experienced all three.

I can't figure out why. I used 115G FMJ ammo. I aimed the pistol, fired, first round of course was fine, but almost everytime the ammo would fail to eject out the slide. So I'd have to pull out the mag, pull the slide back to let the ammo fall out, re-insert the mag, pull the slide again to chamber a round, fire it, but then same problem again - it would fail to eject the round of the slide. So pretty much I could only fire one round at a time, as it'd fail to eject everytime. This was also the first time I ever fired the gun.

The only thing I can think of is I'm limp wristing it. But I have no idea..... because as I said, I'm new to semi-autos (always used Revolvers) but I'm not really sure HOW to tell if I'm limp wristing it or not... The problem with the 26 Gen 3, is there is no place for your pinky finger to grip on the gun. So perhaps I'm gripping it wrong? I don't know. I gripped the gun very firmly, with two hands, but perhaps I'm gripping it the wrong way... Whatever the case, the gun almost never would eject the round out of the slide after I fired. The most I got it to fire in a row without a problem was 2 shots in a row, then it failed to eject the round again.