The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old June 28, 2011, 11:16 PM   #1
William_IV

So I got the bug for black powder revolver now what?

Hello,

As i said i've got the bug for a black powder revolver and was looking at some in cabelas, I was thinking about the 1860 army pietta .44 as my first. I don't know a thing about them and haven't put my hands on one yet. Question is are these guns quality, and could they withstand daily use out on the range. I was also wondering about the term "New Army" Does that mean something? ... now i'm going to have to learn my history.

getting back to the revolvers is there anything i should know before buying?
Old June 29, 2011, 12:34 AM   #2
DG45

Everybody has their own gun preferences. I'm tempted to say buy what strikes your fancy. I did. But I shouldn't have. Since I'm new at this too, I'll just tell you what I did - and in hindsight, what I think I should have done instead.

I caught a couple of sales; for $160 I bought a brass-framed Pietta replica of a .36 cal. 1851 Colt Navy "Reb" revolver with a 7 1/2 inch barrel from Taylor & Co. of Winchester, Va. A spare cylinder came with the gun. Unbeatable deal if money is an overiding issue, -and they may still have a few of these guns. It'll get you into black powder shooting at a rock bottom price.

Then, for $199 from Cabela's, I bought a steel-framed Pietta replica of a .44 cal. 1858 Remington New Army Model revolver with an 8" barrel. I also sprang for an extra cylinder (for about $55 bucks more as I recall).

I'm actually happy with both guns, because my wife loves the smaller Colt Navy replica and is going to go shooting with me. I'll use the NMA replica.